Breadscuits

July 20, 2011 at 7:07 am Leave a comment

Following on from yesterdays gloat, I thought I’d generously share the details of the oh-so-fabulous breadscuit.

I made the bread as usual until the part just before the final rise, where you’d divide into rolls (or not).  I flattened it out (maybe an inch thick?  I didn’t think to check at the time) then used a star-shaped cookie-cutter to cut 4 shapes from the dough, then I was out of space.  I considered treating it like biscuit dough – re-rolling and cutting more – but I don’t know enough about the properties of bread dough so I thought they might not turn out so well.  I then baked the breadscuits, along with the normal rolls we made out of the rest of the dough, as per recipe.

 Here is a picture of the breadscuits.  Some of the arms are a bit wonky because of the way the dough behaved during and after cutting.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: .

Bonus Points To Me! Clean Sweep

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


