Holding A Grudge

August 3, 2011 at 12:55 pm 2 comments

I just got back from a short trip with DH and Monkey.  On Sunday we met up with a girl from college who is over from Australia for a fortnight.  Monday evening we went out for pizza with one of my university friends (who got married a couple months ago and forgot to tell me!).

On the way home this morning, a Belinda Carlisle song which reminded me about someone else I knew at university, who I haven’t spoken to since.  The thing I was reminded of most was how angry I was when he turned out to be a different person than I wanted hin to be.  I spent some good times with him but they were overshadowed by my disappointment. 

My biggest regret from the whole episode is that I wasted time on him when I could have spent it with my friends.  It is less easy to see that sort of thing when you are there and in the moment – working out who the important people are is all part of growing up I suppose.

L/R/K & L(neeW) – I had a really good time, you were all worth the long drive and I will be making much more of an effort to stay in touch as you are all important people x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Perspective The Old Routine

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  August 3, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    When is it seen as an appropriately long enough time to forgive a grudge? Is it acceptable to never forgive or is it decided on a case by case basis. I suppose it depends on the crimes of the perpetrator and the moral codes of the individual

    Reply
  • 2. thecreativetoe  |  August 3, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    The problem with the grudge-thing is it is often all bound up with emotional stuff. I was once so angry with someone that I still not only don’t want to see them, I also don’t want them to know anything about me. That emotional link, albeit unwanted still influences my behaviour. Perhaps the important thing is not to turn a grudge into a vendetta.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


