Fish Fight Part 2

August 19, 2011 at 7:38 am 2 comments

I watched the rest of the fish fight series during the week and will be taking a closer look at our family’s fish consumption.  We don’t eat that much fish – we get fish cakes maybe every couple of weeks (cod or haddock for me, salmon or tuna for DH) and we have tinned tuna in the cupboard.

I checked our tuna stocks – they are fish4life which is pole and line fished from the Maldives (score 1 for me).  Our fishcakes come from Sainsburys which I think does ok on its fishing policies, but we go for ‘bog-standard’ species so I guess we maybe lose a point there.

My cunning plan is to make my own fishcakes (or more likely try to get the fish counter to make them up for me) from something that tastes a bit like cod.  We ought to be eating more oily fish, but I don’t like strong flavours, not even salmon really.  So that will probably be the next thing to think about. 

I’m not a big fan of cooking – if left to my own devices I’d probably eat pasta & breakfast cereals and little else.  Most of my ‘proper’ cooking is done because I ought to.  DH goes out to work, I stay at home.  It seems reasonable to me that I try get food sorted out for him – if not every day then most days.  Unfortunately because of that un-kitcheny-streak I tend to stick to the same easy-to-cook things.  Stinky or faffy food preparation is out – I don’t want my house smelling of dead fish.  How very post-Tudor* of me.

* I watched a programme about the evolution of the kitchen but can’t remember which era was the shifting of the kitchen to ‘downstairs’ and ‘out-of-sight’.  Victorian possibly?

Entry filed under: Food.

Hugh’s Fish Fight Part 1 Adapting With Fish

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  August 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    It was Henry VIII, I think, when the kitchen moved away from the main area of the house to mask the smells that came from there.
    So, you are right with the Tudor 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. thecreativetoe  |  August 22, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Ta – you obviously paid more attention in your history lessons than I did!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


