Learning Respect

September 12, 2011 at 4:37 pm Leave a comment

We got back last night from a weekend visiting my Mother-in-Law (Grannie).  Although we spent a good part of the weekend not actually with her, as we also visited a sick relative, and also met up in Oxford with my Dad.  We popped in to the Ashmolean and I tried to explain to Monkey what the appropriate behaviour in a museum might be.  I think he is probably a little too young to understand all of what I was explaining, but I try to assume that he will.  Maybe not today, but I’d rather that than treat him like he can’t understand anything.  We had a look at some of the objects but didn’t stay too long as he was fidgety.

Sunday afternoon was nice as well.  DH, Monkey, Grannie and I took a trip out to the Rollright stones.  Monkey seemed to have a nice time – he had a bit of a run around the stone circle, then we all walked over to the Whispering Knights dolmen – the remains of a burial chamber.  Again, I tried to explain the significance of it – that it was a place where people used to come to bury their dead.  Explaining it made it more real for me as well, and I had a moment where I grieved for all those people and their loved ones.  They chose a lovely place to bring them.  One the way back to the car I stopped a couple of times and closed my eyes, enjoying the feel of the wind and the warmth of the sun.  I hope we can explain all of these things, when it is the right time, so that Monkey will understand them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Later That Day… Separation Anxiety

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


