Reality Check

September 17, 2011 at 8:21 am 1 comment

Monkey and I went for our half-yearly dental check yesterday.  Monkey’s teeth were fine, and my dentist reassured me that I don’t need to bother about the thumb-sucking for another 5-6 years.

My teeth, however, aren’t quite so good.  As far as I am aware, I am the only one of three siblings to have had any fillings.  My sister had braces for a year or so in her late teens, but nothing other than that.  Mine aren’t too bad – I’ve only two fillings, but my top right, right-at-the-back molar is giving up the ghost.  It is mostly filling now, I think, and my dentist advised me that I would loose that tooth eventually.  I am not surprised, but have somehow managed to completely detatch myself from it actually happening.  If that makes sense.  I am not good with medical procedures.  I had a bad experience with what ought to have been a minor operation and since then my nascent needle-dislike has blossomed into a full phobia.  It even impacted on my labour – every time a doctor came into the room, my contractions slowed.  I’m also avoiding smear tests (why can’t they make them less unpleasant?), which isn’t the most sensible of behaviours.  If Monkey needs injections, as he has previously, DH comes along.  I can now be in the room when that happens.  I can even watch medical-programming on tv.  I just can’t allow any of it to happen to me.

So I will be fine.  I will never need another blood test.  I won’t ever be in an accident.  My disintegrating tooth will fall out naturally, without pain.  Here’s hoping!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Separation Anxiety Weekending At Home

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  September 19, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    I had several years of dental work, 8 teeth removed all in all but the thing that kept me motivated whilst in the agony of wearing a retainer was the fact that it would make my teeth straighter….it worked in part.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


