No More Nap Times?

October 14, 2011 at 7:07 pm Leave a comment

I think that often, as a parent, one watches out for those fabulous ‘firsts’.  First smile, tooth, step, word, etc.  We have tried to make less of an issue about it with Monkey.  No matter how pleased we are that he says or does something that we think is important. 

‘Lasts’ might also be milestones.  I can’t remember the last time Monkey breast-fed.  I remember some of the run-up to it, each time thinking ‘this might be it’ as he was wanting to less and less until finally he refused.  I have continued to acquire information about breastfeeding since then and sometimes I feel guilty that it isn’t happening any more.  But he stopped of his own accord.  I remember how physically draining I found it, but it was still special.

I think sleeping routines are less ‘special’.  Monkey’s has regularly shifted and he seems to be in another phase of no-nap.  This evening he fell asleep not long before DH came home, and is likely to be down until tomorrow morning.  I don’t feel as stressed as I sometimes do though, as we were out most of the day and had a really good time.  I don’t know how long it will be before he shifts back to naps.  He may not need to, in which case he & I might be able to range a bit further afield on our ‘outings’.  I think that I’ll probably have to wait and see before I book tickets for anything though!

Entry filed under: Breastfeeding, Child Care.

Salt Dough Beetles!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


