Creative Ennui?

November 22, 2011 at 2:51 pm 1 comment

I’m stuck in a creative rut.  Kind of.  I am managing to write a few blog posts & do a little crafting/knitting but I have no desire to paint.  I make the occasional half-hearted attempt at motivating myself to do something ‘arty’ but it doesn’t generally get any further than a bit of planning and some messing around with words & fonts on the computer.

Someone recently suggested that I might be more in the ‘creative zone’ when Monkey is a little older.  At the moment, from a biological point of view, it is in my interests to focus as much as possible on my offspring, while they still need that attention.

I still want to be creative, I suppose it is taking time for my horizons to re-adjust.  To accept that not only am I highly unlikely to achieve any sort of art-fame or manage a self-supporting career selling my exceedingly coveted and collected artworks; I don’t even think I want that any more.  Not sure what else I want – hey maybe I could be an ‘Art Mom’ – like a Ballet Mom but less fussy about pink.

Or perhaps I will just be happy making things for myself and my family.  There is plenty of scope for creativity with two sticks and some string…

Entry filed under: Art.

Child-care Ah, Harrogate! (textile rave, sorry dudes!)

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


