Wow! Wildlife!

December 16, 2011 at 10:07 am 1 comment

As you may or may not know, we share our house/garden with various other species.  Pesky fruit flies, lazy spiders, annoying slugs and last week a rather randomly a rather large and probably slightly inebriated beetle-grub.  Our neighbours keep cats too.  (see a previous post relating to cat poo)

Anyway, I was calmly washing the dishes this morning.  I don’t know why these things are always calm.  Perhaps it sets the scene for the shocking and dramatic thing which happens next.  Don’t get excited, I didn’t find a pterodactyl under a plate or anything.

I looked up at the window as a cat ran past.  Not an uncommon ocurrance, pooping finksters.  As it ran past I noticed it wasn’t in fact a cat at all.  It was a BUFFALO!!!!  No, not really, it was just a fox.  Sorry, I think I have my sarcastic head on today.  I have never seen a real live fox before, so I was impressed.  Partly because it wasn’t a cat, I imagine.  Or a buffalo, as they have more waste to get rid of.  Anyway, it wasn’t a beautiful russet red or anything, just a kind of dirty brownish.  And yes, it definitely was a fox, not the tortoiseshell fluffball from two doors down.

So that was me impressed anyway.  Best go check the garden for deposits.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Where did my lovely little boy go? A whale of a time

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  December 16, 2011 at 11:13 am

    We have foxes here that just potter about town in the day time. The most impressive thing is that they have either figured out where the zebra crossings are or have learned to avoid the cars. I am always amazed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


