Pesky Pests

January 8, 2012 at 10:26 pm 1 comment

We’ve had a less than perfect record with pests in this house.  We get the occasional slug in the kitchen (mostly), mice under the floorboards upstairs, and cats in the garden.

More recently I’ve noticed a new mini-beast.  It took me a while to identify as I’d never seen them before.  Smaller, darker and hairier-looking than silverfish, I’d originally assumed they were firebrats (like silverfish but darker) but on looking them up I realised they were too small.  Last night I resorted to scouring the internet to see what I could find out about them, and also the tiny beetly things i’ve noticed, mostly in the sitting room.

It turns out we have carpet beetles (the little ones downstairs).  These normally live outside & eat nectar but they often lay eggs inside (30-40 a piece), commonly in airing cupboards.  The larvae, on hatching, eat natural fibres.  They ae rather different in appearance from the adults, being about 4mm long rather than 1mm.  They are brown.  And they are hairy looking.  Aha!  The culprit named.  They eat feathers (Monkey’s feather drawer has been de-bugged), they eat paper (I have been through quite a few boxes of stuff this weekend eliminating the blighters).  And they eat wool.

Argh.

I am not looking forward to investigating that stash.

I am also hoping they haven’t got anywhere near my magazines or my dress patterns.

Fingers crossed for a bug-free house, eventually!

Entry filed under: DIY & Crafts, Good Housekeeping. Tags: , .

Thank you, Teacher Tom! Monkey See, Monkey Do?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amos  |  January 27, 2012 at 12:49 am

    I have my new pest control technicians spend a few hours each day reading related posts. This one by far has been the most informative. Thank you and keep up the good work

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


