Mona Lisa Smile

January 14, 2012 at 7:55 pm 1 comment

A couple of days ago I re-watched Mona Lisa Smile. I’ve seen it before at least twice but was in that kind of a mood today. I was struck this time by something I haven’t picked up on so much before. By the end of the film, Julia Roberts’ character has become a positively-influencing figure for her students. We are so much shaped by those with whom we spend our school days.

Looking back at my own schooling, at the teachers and lecturers who stand out, I am slightly saddened that there was no Katherine Watson for me. Or not in school at least. If I think about it, my positive influences are all family. I spent more time-which-was-important with them.

I hope that the choices DH & myself are making on Monkey’s behalf will have the same positive influence, and that he will grow and flourish.

Entry filed under: Child Care. Tags: , .

Recipes From A Box Monkey Does Stuff

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  January 15, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Whilst it must be nice to be taught by the inspirational Julia Roberts/Robin Williams types, you must recall that the fact they were made into movies would suggest they were the exception and not the norm.
    I don’t think school is about inspirational teachers, I don’t recall having them myself, but about learning. It is as much the part of the parents to make learning interesting as it is of the teacher.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


