Things To Do

April 11, 2012 at 9:00 pm Leave a comment

Over the last few days I’ve started to notice a phrase from Monkey I haven’t really heard before.  I’m not sure I could quote it exactly but it is something along the lines of “me do something else”.  I wonder if he’s been bored before but has only now got the vocab to tell me?  Hope not!

So I have been wondering a little what to do about it.  All the activities I suggest are generally dismissed out of hand.  I seem to have noticed it more today – when we haven’t done all that much exercise after doing virtually none at all the day before.  So it could be that.

Possibly it is that he isn’t feeling stretched enough & needs more challenging things to do.  With it being Easter, most of the child-centered activities we do involving other people are not on right now.  I can understand why some parents of children-who-attend-school despair in the holidays.

Alternatively it might be that he wants more mummy-time.  I’m just coming to the end of a gaming-phase which may have something to do with it.  That combined with my feeling particularly uninspired on the artistic front means I’m having trouble being in the zone for thinking up things to do.  Especially when every suggestion is met with ‘no’. 

DH has mentionned to me that he was in a similar situation as a child and remembers struggling to explain to his mother what he wanted.  I’m trying to help by giving Monkey as much vocab to play with as possible.  Having said that, I’m not sure I know my own mind at 30+, so why should Monkey know his at not-quite-three?

I could plough through all the blog posts I’ve noted from other sites & scour Pinterest but I dont think spending more time on te computer is the solution.  Hopefully the long (ish) walk I’m hoping we’ll go for tomorrow will help.  Off to read some books in the meantime!

Entry filed under: Child Care.

Job Satisfaction Splot! Painting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


