Somebody That I Used To Know

May 4, 2012 at 6:25 am 1 comment

(Today’s title is mostly nicked off Gotye)

Losing touch sometimes bothers me.  People I haven’t seen for over 10 years and am unlikely to see again.  Co-workers that I lost touch with when I changed jobs.  People I’ve grown apart from – some from Uni  and some more recent.

I’m debating the wisdom of putting a couple of their names in here, in case they should happen to run a web search on themselves – maybe they’d come across this post and know that I was thinking of them.  Although that would probably be a bit creepy.  “Oh, somebody that I lost touch with thinks of me regularly.  Why didn’t they just stay in touch?”  Or even “Great.  I have a stalker.”  So I’ll refrain from naming names etc.

I’m kind of hoping this post will be somewhat cathartic so maybe I’ll stop looking for the guy I used to hang out with after work every time I go somewhere he might possibly be.  (And no, I promise I’m not stalking him, I just keep an eye out).  And maybe I’ll stop hoping my long-time crush from University will all of a sudden realise how cool I am and that he really ought to e-mail me and see how I’m doing.

I’m actually pretty good at losing touch with people, so I tried to keep in contact with my ante-natal group as long as I could.  I gave up on trying to organise group re-unions because despite going through this major life-changine experience together, we’d since grown apart.  Some have gone back to work, some have had a second child since then, and some just stopped being in touch.

I guess the desire to keep in touch has to go both ways.  It has taken me a while to understand that, and I think I have to re-learn it every time it happens.  It doesn’t stop me missing them, but maybe it makes the people I still know more precious.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

A Pretty Good Day In The ‘Stuff’ Stakes Magpies And Dandelions

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  May 4, 2012 at 8:08 am

    I think there is something hard wired in to brains to make them forget most connections. A way of tidying up so you only recall old relationships if you are triggered by something particular.
    It is the way of the world that people in an environment like University or work make friends and then as soon as you leave that sphere and are no longer privy to the systems for maintaining those connections, everyone moves on.
    (It’s Gotye by the way)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


