Let Them Eat Cake. In A Week Or So

May 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday one of my neighbours gave me a Herman-The-German sourdough cake mix starter.  Today I stirred it.  Twice.  I also found the website and some other web-based info about it.  I’m not going to go into how it all works – that is covered elsewhere on the web.

I notice, though, that there seems to be a polarisation of love/hate the whole friendship cake thing.  I remain ambivalent thus far – I am not anthropomorphisifying my cake-mix.  Nor am I ready to throw it out yet.

I’m going to have to change the recipe though – Monkey does not like raisins when he notices they are there.  Some toasted tea-cakes are ok, but he won’t eat them in scones (we made cheese ones instead last week).  He also won’t eat them in the fab fried rice that DH cooks.  He is happy to eat peas though so I get more raisins, he gets more protein.  Bonus points all round.

Anyway – the cake is all fruit-laden and that just isn’t going to go down well.  He’d be happy with a plain cake (why does ‘pliyn ciyk’ spring to mind?) but he also likes chocolate, probably because grown-ups eat it.  So long as I can find a not-sticky chocolate recipe, that is probably what I’ll go for.  Assuming Herman survives until next wednesday!

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , .

Magpies And Dandelions Herman And The Forgetful CreativeToe

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


