Jaffa Cakes v. Jammy Dodgers

June 1, 2012 at 6:05 am 2 comments

This post is not

– a highbrow research publication into the pros & cons of the two snack items;

– a momentarily exciting yet unsurprisingly mundane video coverage of a contest of skill between the two snack items.

– there was a third one but the previous bullet point got so waffly that I forgot what it was.

Anyway – Last week I ate a packet of jaffa cakes without any apparant complications.  Not all at once, but over the course of a few hours.  I’d also bought a packet of Jammy Dodgers but found (the day after the jaffa cakes) that they didn’t agree with me.

I’m noticing that more and more with food I used to eat regularly.  My tastes are changing and my stomach is getting grouchier.  Or maybe I am just paying it more attention.

I had a food sensitivity test a few months ago and still haven’t got round to going ‘cold turkey’.  I am, however, widening my diet, trying more different foods.  I had a phase towards the end of last year when I was eating a green&blacks-size bar of chocolate every day.  I’d struggle to do that now – my sweet tooth seems to be unsweetening and anything which tastes claggy isn’t so good.  (Maybe I should make a spreadsheet…)

I’m also trying to take notice of which things make my stomach feel unpleasant.  Mayonnaise seems to be off the list (in any quantity), and of course jammy dodgers.

My food preferences seem to be adjusting, albeit slowly.  I keep on trying to eat things other than chocolate, my next challenge is cutting back on the shop-bought chocolate coookies.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , .

Herman And Friends Washing The Washing-Up Water

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. For Bella and Will  |  June 7, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    Oh, this sounds just like me, I had a chocolate muffin the other night, home made, warm from the oven, yum 🙂
    I was then awake all night with a very unhappy tummy 😦 hope I don’t have any intolerance, especially to chocolate

    Reply
  • 2. thecreativetoe  |  June 7, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    We had home-made scones with jam & cream over the bank holiday and that didn’t sit well. Didn’t stop me eating more the next day. Only because it would have been a shame to waste them, of course. Didn’t sit well the second day either. Here’s to never learning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


