Home & Garden

June 13, 2012 at 9:11 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been meaning to post for a few days now on various topics and only just got round to it.  Good excuse though, I’ve got the sewing machine (mostly) behaving itself so I’ve been using up some of my fabric stash.  Although this evening I’ve mostly been using my hand as a pincushion.  Ow.

The reed-bed-esque sink turned water filter isn’t really working as we’d hoped it would.  I think I was half expecting it would take washing-up water and magically turn it into cleanish water.  It is ok but can’t cope with milk.  We also haven’t quite got the outflow sorted.  The plan was to have a tap or similar shutting-off device.  We have a washing-machine hose.  Still, we put the ‘spare’ end in a bucket & keep tipping the water back through to keep the plants wet.  I think there has been some evaporation and maybe just a little rainfall but I don’t think we’ve had any overflow from the top of the sink.

On the making side I made a half-batch of Cinnamon Herman Buns.  Then we ate them all so I made a full batch.  The half-batch was easier to mix – I think my mixing bowl was too small.  I found that towards the end of the batch the remaining mixture was much stickier as the flour hadn’t been so evenly distributed.  Still, these ones taste good too.

I finished a shirt for Monkey in a kind of pale green.  The press-studs are a bit wonky but I don’t think he’ll notice.  If I manage to get his beautiful clothkits dungarees lengthened in time, he might even be wearing his hand-made ensemble to a party at the weekend.

Entry filed under: Dressmaking, Food, Gardening. Tags: , , .

Washing The Washing-Up Water The Bricky-Walker-Thing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


