Dressed up

June 21, 2012 at 9:25 pm Leave a comment

Over the last couple of weeks I have been attempting dressmaking.  Including a dress (Simplicity 4055) which turned reasonably well considering how many things I did wrong.   I managed to make one sleeve inside out (unpicked & made the right way round); skipped part of the lining (hey, it’s a summer garment); sewed another part of the lining to the waist (unpicked & sewed the waist again); skipped the top drawstring casing (the beauty of gravity means that hopefully, it won’t fall down); skipped the lower drawstring casing (I got fed up of sewing, my thread is the wrong colour, and I’ll probably just hand-stitch the ribbon to the edge instead).

I have mostly made a loose-fitting waistcoat  (burda 7399) which is ok but I managed to sew the armhole bindings on inside out to begin with.  Fixed now, and all I have to do is trim all the loose threads.  Might never happen.

I started another shirt for Monkey (in red this time) and have also started a curtain.  Adventurous, huh.  Actually I am mostly cheating with the curtain – The fabric is the right width so it doesn’t need finishin down the sides.  I hemmed the bottom with bondaweb-type stuff (I’ll do the top tomorrow probably).  The tabs for hanging it up with will probably use the same sort of method.

Then I can move on to the shirt I cut out for myself last year.  I fully expect the sleeves to need unpicking at least once.

Entry filed under: Dressmaking. Tags: , , .

The Bricky-Walker-Thing Seasonal Wildlife

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


