Seasonal Wildlife

June 22, 2012 at 2:27 pm 1 comment

A few months ago we had a problem with (probably) carpet beetles.  We seem to have shifted them – at least I haven’t seen any larvae for a while.  The hotspots of damage (boxes of feathers for sticking, felt for colour-sorting, etc) seem to be bug-free as well.  Which is fab, obviously.

The recurring mouse problem seems to be fine at the moment as well, and although I discovered a silverfish in a glass bowl under the sink, the new pest problem is somewhat unexpected.

Earwigs (I think).  I am so never going to be able to get family to stay over any more.  We found the first one under a rucksack in the kitchen whilst tidying up.  I put it in the outside sink-garden.  I have since found three more – in the bathroom, back bedroom & main bedroom.  All the ones I can catch now get squished.

I can only assume it is the change in weather which has encouraged them in, but having said that, I would have thought they preferred damp conditions outside.  Unless there is some sort of damp inside the house that they really like.  Which does not bode well.  Although having glanced through the internet they may be eating the carpet beetles, which is ok.  Having said that, I will continue in my squishing, because it REALLY freaks me out when one comes out from under the fabric I have in the sewing machine, as I am sewing it.

Entry filed under: Good Housekeeping. Tags: .

Dressed up Herman – A Tale Of Obsession And Abandonment

1 Comment Add your own

  • […] The problem with all that is that I don’t really know what this blog is about.  Or perhaps for might be a better way of looking at it.  Is this a blog to promote sales?  I don’t think so – I’m not sure I’d be very good at continually doing the whole ‘buy buy buy!’ thing.  Sometimes I just want to waffle about knitting projects, or adventures we go on.  Or the thing from a few years ago I just remembered with the earwig in the sewing machine. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


