Herman – A Tale Of Obsession And Abandonment

June 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm 1 comment

Apologies in advance for the anthropersonificationy stuff, I find I can’t help it.

I’m not going to go over the whole back story of Herman, but suffice it to say that for the last few weeks there has been a bowl of flour, milk, sugar & micro-organisms sitting around the kitchen.  Sometimes he would go through phases of glooping on the tea-towel over his bowl.

In the few weeks of myself, Monkey & DH co-existing with this bowl of goo, I have handed out portions of Herman to 9 other households.  Of the outcomes I know there was one ‘offspring’ who was forgotten and died.  At least one has become a cake.  Two others escaped from their containers at one time or another but I don’t know their eventual fates.

I made a batch and a half of cinnamon biscuits.  Then earlier this week, as I was approaching the time when I would need to cook the final batch of biscuits (and was even toying with the idea of trying to find a gingerbread man type recipe).  I found I had run out of steam.  So I left him on the table, in his bowl.  I managed to stir him once or twice.  Then yesterday we took the plunge and put him on the compost heap.

I am glad it is over, the whole me-and-herman thing.  Interestingly I think I stopped Hermanising just as I was getting back into sewing.  Oh dear – I hope this doesn’t mean I will feel the need to compost the sewing machine when I’m done with it…

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , .

Seasonal Wildlife Eating Habits

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. For Bella and Will  |  June 25, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    Aaah, poor Herman, at least he had a loving home while he was with you 😉

    Totally love your word: anthropersonification – superb! It does seem a little strange to refer to a bowl of goo as ‘him’ and ‘he’. You should have put him in the freezer for another day that’s if you could bare to try Herman ever again.

    Glad you enjoyed the biscuits x

    PS. Don’t think worms like sewing machines 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


