Sausages

July 5, 2012 at 8:45 am 1 comment

A couple of years ago we visited the Great Yorkshire Show.  Huge site – not easy to manage with a baby in a sling – partly because it was very busy.  Whilst there we checked out the food section, and one of the samples I tried & enjoyed was Debbie & Andrews sausages.  I liked it so much that DH tried it too, & we agreed it was a fantastic sausage.  We got a pack then & I’ve had a couple of packs since.

Yesterday evening we had a mini barbeque.  Debbie & Andrews for me (in fact we were doing the barbeque so I could have them) and veggie sausages for DH & Monkey.  Unfortunately since the last pack I got, my tastes have changed.  DH’s mash & gravy were lovely but I didn’t enjoy my meat sausages.

I wonder if, in part, I am going off the idea of meat from an ethical point of view.  I also feel guilty when I choose a meat dish at a restaurant and don’t finish it, the DH feels obliged to eat it because he hates to see food wasted.  Perhaps as I continue to eat less and less meat, I will just get used to not eating meat.

As the vegetarian side of my palate is explored (I tried DH’s cheesy bubble & squeak sausages & liked them) I will hopefully find more alternatives that I can enjoy.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , .

Steak Out Shining My Sink

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. scientiaincognita  |  July 5, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Going from vegetarian to meat eater, I find it difficult to find meat that I am happy with. Sausages are notoriously hard because if there is one piece of gristle, it is game over for me.
    I find that pies are easier to cope with and are more easily digested.
    As long as you balance not eating meat with the nutrients that you are missing, there is nothing wrong with the veggie diet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


