A Matter Of Confidence

July 16, 2012 at 4:45 pm 1 comment

I haven’t done anything really creative for a while.  I still sew/knit/blog but I stopped painting, which was my major creative outlet, and writing ‘proper’.  Part of the reason is that I don’t have anything that I just have to get out.  No angst, no romantically-induced teen-trauma.  No excessive emotion that needs dealing with.

I still have loads of great ideas for things but its all crafty-crafty and a bit more Working-From-Home-Mum/micro-business-type ideas.

(Is it me, or is there an excess of punctuation in this post?).

Anyway – there is an open exhibition coming up locally, with the deadline looming.  I am not making anything new for it, but am debating submitting some of my earlier work.  My problem is, I have submitted work to open exhibitions (and galleries) before but haven’t been accepted.

I know my work isn’t really ‘commercial’, it is more the lower end of ‘High-Art’.  You know – the kind of thing you look at and go ‘Huh?’  Except that even that doesn’t describe it properly.  Some of it is the kind of thing you see in a trendy bar.  So basically I paint wallpaper.  On a chunky frame.

So the question is – do I go to all the faff of submitting work when it may not sell.  Lugging it over to the venue on public transport, accompanied by a toddler.  Or else rope in DH to help me shift it.  I know that if I don’t exhibit, I don’t sell.  But why I wonder would anyone buy my work, when there is SO many talented people in the area, also exhibiting work.

I suppose if I don’t try, I won’t shift it.  It is going to have to be sell them or chuck them.

Entry filed under: Art. Tags: , , .

Body Hair Blame It On The Olympics

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. A Change Of Artistic Direction. I Hope… « thecreativetoe  |  September 15, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    […] we were having a bit of a clear out.  And I finally decided to do something about the oodles of canvases I have acquired.  Some painted, some not.  They are going, hurrah!  DH photographed the finished […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


