Holiday Knitting

March 20, 2013 at 6:54 am Leave a comment

We’re planning on going away for a few days, so of course as well as making sure we’re vaguely up to date on the washing, I’ve spent much of my ‘knitting time’ over the previous week planning which projects to take with me.  Last year we went away to a cabin for a week – I took my sewing machine & made 2 shirts for Monkey & started one for me (which I haven’t picked up since then).

This time I’d planned to take just 1 ball of wool + the relevant needles – my intented make was a garment using lace weight yarn.  Great plan!  Except that I accidentally made the sleeves already (although one still needs finishing off).  Then it came to working out the body.  I cannot get the numbers right in my head!  I want to make it top down, fine.  I want to make it in one piece, no problem.  But for some reason I cannot visualise both together for this stupid thing.  Yesterday, whilst simultaneously trying to start a bit of packing, I gave up on the lace-weight cardigan & opted to start my planning again.

I now have 2 items ready to roll.  Two sets of tension squares checked; patterns copied & printed; needles assembled; wool extracted & bagged.

An added benefit is that both garments are dk ish so I’m clearing more stash space.  Also they will be wearable by me – the lace thing is lovely yarn but it was an impulse buy as I don’t generally wear pink.  These two are far more my thing – one yarn was a blue jumper I made about 5 years ago that didn’t suit me so got frogged; the other is a whole pile of balls & part-balls in blues & greens.

All I have to do now is not finish them before I go!

Entry filed under: Holidays, Knitting. Tags: .

Stash-Clearing Fun! Knitting Apathy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


