Knitting Apathy

April 8, 2013 at 7:11 am Leave a comment

I’ve been suffering a bit from knitting apathy over the last week or so.  In part it has been brought about by the failure of a project I was involved with.

Our local yarn shop closed down recently & as some of the people at the knitting group I go to thought it was a shame we thought it would be a good idea to open our own.  We planned to run as a co-operative, sharing the work (and the wool), each working a day a week in the shop.  Unfortunately, after nearly 6 months of planning, meetings & discussions we have called it a day.  We all wanted different things – some of the group were more interested in the co-operative side of it, some in the shop.  Besides which, funding & time available kept cropping up as a major issue.

It is disappointing (hence the knitting apathy) but has been edifying nonetheless.  I was trying to extract information from the internet at the end of last week and Monkey was trying to get my attention.  I sat back and thought about it – what am I doing?!?  The whole thing is failing & I am faffing with public liability insurance quotes & cash flow forecasts?  I have got better things to do.  I am in the fortunate position that I do not have to go out to work at the moment.  I’ve chosen to stay home with my child and that is still my choice.  So we’ll be out walking instead of in sitting/selling wool.

So apathy is (hopefully) out.  I made a cardigan for Monkey’s rag doll yesterday – just have the ends to sew in (ha ha ha).  The I can go back & attempt the lace-weight cardigan I have been battling with on & off.  Hurrah!

Entry filed under: Child Care, Knitting. Tags: , , .

Holiday Knitting Craft Planning

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


