Potatoes. And Hungry Spindles

July 23, 2013 at 7:12 pm Leave a comment

We seem to have a reasonable crop of veg this year.  Certainly better than last year.  Mixed lettuce – good.  Spinach – v. healthy & plentiful.  Peas and beans – less well – the peas from the garden centre have produced some pods but not oodles.  The ones which came with the lettuces etc. are just about surviving but are only a few inches high.  I haven’t pulled any beetroot/spring onion/leeks yet but they all seem to be present & correct.  And we ate some of our potato crop this week.  As I very cleverly lost the note I made of which variety went in which bag, all I know is that they were potato-coloured, small & waxy.  Nice boiled, a bit gluey as mash.

Changing the subject completely, this week I have been mostly spinning wool.  I bought a drop-spindle at the Knitting & Stitching show 2011, and last year I got a Bogway Handspinner (a bit like a football rattle thing but less noisy).  I have been using up various bags of wool which have been lying around the house for quite some time, and although it takes a while it is quite a lot of fun.  It is a little bit addictive, possibly because it is too hot to do much work on the double-knit cardigan I’ve been working on (Rowan Scottish Tweed, held double).  I’m debating suggesting to DH that we take a trip over to Wooly Knit at Diggle, as they had a lovely selection of wool for spinning when I went over with some friends a few months ago.  Fortunately for DH, I don’t think I’m quite ready to invest in a wheel yet but I’ve made 3 small balls of wool.  I think it will take me quite a while to produce enough to make a jumper, best get back to it!

Entry filed under: Food, Gardening, Knitting. Tags: , , , , .

Expanding Interests Found Objects & Unusual Finds

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


