Sewing Day

June 6, 2016 at 6:40 pm Leave a comment

Monkey & I went for a lovely walk yesterday morning – before it got too hot.  It is one we’ve done a few times over the last 6 months but it is getting a little overgrown so we’ll probably not go again until it is a little less verdant.  I was hoping we’d do the same thing again this morning, albeit on a different route but he was having none of it.

Instead we got out some paints which he’d been given for his birthday.  I was hoping to do the thing where you draw with white crayon then paint over it.  Unfortunately I couldn’t find the crayons so I used the closest thing I could find – a white Conte crayon – which didn’t work as well as we’d have liked.  Still – it was worth a try.

We’ve also been busy sewing – we got a bundle of 4 fat quarters from Barleycraft Fabrics in Saltaire to make a quilt for one of his toys but then he decided a sleeping bag & pillow would be a better idea.  He drew some designs on A3 paper & I straightened the lines out & cut out the shapes to use as a pattern.  It has been a bit of a faff – as the ‘bag’ isn’t lined I did French seams.  Note for future reference – sewing in the hottest part of the day isn’t the best idea ever.  Ditto ironing in the warmest room in the house.  Anyway – Lallu is happily ensconced in her new sleeping bag (Monkey sent her for a nap I think) and all I have to do now is stuff & finish the pillow.

I was hoping to get my card for Very Berry’s ATC swap started as well – I got the design drawn out earlier but then I was looking through the fabric I was hoping to use & decided it wouldn’t do.  The Liberty print was too brown & there weren’t enough bits of Oakshott cotton in the colours I wanted.  Fortunately I’d ordered something last week for a different idea which might get subsumed into this instead – I’ll have to see what the colours are like once it arrives.  If that isn’t any good it is back to the drawing board!

Entry filed under: DIY & Crafts, Fabric.

Not Much Luck Back To The Drawing Board!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


