Back To The Drawing Board!

June 7, 2016 at 4:43 pm 1 comment

I was up early this morning and got bored of knitting (I’m getting fed up of sleeves-in-the-round).  I was still on a bit of a sewing kick so I figured I’d try to plan out more accurately the shapes I’d need for my trading card.  I’m planning on doing a mini Dresden plate for part of it as I’ve been meaning to have a go for a while.

I cut out 15 wedges (which is how many I plan on using for the card) and set to stitching, using some of yesterday’s scraps.  An hour or so later I’d joined them all together and made a lovely (albeit slightly useless) crown.  It wasn’t completely useless as I reckon the wedges are about the right height, they are just far too straight.  I tried again, making a shorter, pointier template.  I also used the fabric I originally planned on.  Unfortunately, although it is lovely (sari off-cut yarn) it is too fine & flimsy.  And the pieces are so fiddly!  I think I will have to scrap the Dresden plate idea & find a different way of getting the image I want.

Chuck the protractor, where did I put my drawing board…?

Managed to find an possible alternative solution – I’ve ordered some lovely ribbon & sheer fabrics.  I’m planning on stitching with the ribbon (which is new to me) and layering the sheer fabrics over the top.  It’ll be an interesting experiment, no matter what the outcome.  Back to the drawing board for real now – I need to sketch an ink bottle!

Entry filed under: DIY & Crafts.

Sewing Day Looming Deadline…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julie TD  |  June 7, 2016 at 6:11 pm

    I love this post thanks. Having similar experiences, I’ve discovered the smallest button in my button tin is far too big when placed on the ATC card, going shopping!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


