Hex Appeal

November 20, 2016 at 2:18 pm 2 comments

I’m due to send my latest atc swap card off in a couple of weeks.  My original idea was to do a landscape through a window – in part inspired by a view of a winter sunset through a café window in Dublin, a few years ago.  So I am, of course doing something completely different.

When I came to looking at the fabric I’d ordered I wasn’t seeing window panes at all. I briefly considered tearing strips of fabric and layering a wintery landscape, but wasn’t sure what kind of edge I’d get (being more accustomed to tearing paper and having a special tool for altering the edge of fabric, aka scissors). So what could I do to make an interesting background to stitch on?  Oh I know, I should do patchwork hexagons!  I used the new fabric to make some of the 7 I’d need to cover the card and managed to find enough scraps of different purples to complete the set.

Ok, background assembled, now what?  I found some unspun fibre which was sparkly and in the right kind of colours – ooh I could spin that and maybe crochet a star then stitch embellishments on it.

Some time later, having spun the yarn, I abandoned that idea – the star was turning out far too big and bulky, and I wanted something a bit more delicate.  I briefly debated using the spun yarn anyway, just couching it instead of crocheting it.  I think I may have to do some proper work for this one after all – sketches and stuff.  Hopefully Monkey will be in a Lego-zone when we get home (we are out at Haworth’s Steampunk weekend at the moment and the boys are off looking at some toys) so I can get underway, otherwise I’ll have to wait until tomorrow and hope he doesn’t wake up early.

I am hoping to get a little further with it before I get completely distracted by the Knitting & Stitching show next week.  I know what I’m like – I’ll come back with a head full of stuff completely unrelated to this project and probably some workshop kits to finish off.  I think that at least one of my ‘local’ shops (Barleycraft Fabrics from Saltaire) is having a stall this year so I’ll have to pop by and support her. All in all I’m running out of theoretical time.  Maybe I should investigate the torn-fabric landscape after all…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Following Stuff Up Post-Christmas Making

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie TD  |  November 21, 2016 at 2:34 pm

    I love reading your posts Ellie, they always make me feel happy. I can relate to those feelings at this time of year when the children cheerfully take over any spare time, I managed to go to the Knitting & stitching show at the Ally Pally and got a wonderful multi pom-pom maker, so I’ve been thinking about make mini pom-poms for my ATC instead of perusing my original and more do-able ideas that have now lost momentum!

    Reply
  • 2. Larisa  |  December 9, 2016 at 1:10 am

    Hi Ellie, thank you so so much for the wonderful Winter Sparkle Surprise! Your card is very beautiful and I love all the tiny delicate details including the sparkly stitching around the edges. 🙂 The card sits on our dinning table and adds to the wintery scence we set up there. Just lovely! Thank you very much! Larisa xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


